Blind talent

I have this friend. Let’s call him X. And he is one of the most annoying human beings on the planet. Not character wise though, in that regard he is a doll.
But what annoys me is his inability to accept a compliment about his creative talent.
I personal think that they broke the mold when they made him. But no matter how many times you tell him he refuses to see it.
I mean he can draw, design, dance. Things I wish I could do but unfortunately I can’t.
To me he is the type of person who should be at Parsons or Juilliard.
One time for fun we even checked Juilliard tuition fees and fantasized about how fun it would be to go there.
The sad thing is I think he is an example of what happens to the creative flame that exists when we were kids. Some kids have parents who fan these flames into a roaring fire for all to see, while others cover it with the wet towel that is their reality. But they need to realise that their reality is gone, the reality of today is a reality that is accepting of art and of life.
This reminds me of what I was thinking about when I wrote Bucket lists
Every time, I make personal effort to fan those flames that seem to be dying before my eyes, because I believe it is one of the saddest things, when a person is unable to achieve their full potential because of lack of support.

One thought on “Blind talent

  1. Pingback: Depression | davidsorbet

Leave a Reply

